Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

cam for J30A4?

  #1  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:13 PM
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 247
Default cam for J30A4?

Is there a camshaft available to help increase HP in my J30A4? Will a cam from a different model car work or are there aftermarket ones?

What about catalytic convertors or bypasses? I live in Indiana and dont have inspections....

Exhaust that doesnt cost 600 dollars or sound like a "fart can"?

Sorry for all the questions, but Im new to Honda cars...
 
  #2  
Old 04-06-2007, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 6,290
Default RE: cam for J30A4?

Cam: they should be available, if not then a decent machine shop can change the cam angles for you

Cat converters, plenty available or just get a good piece of flex pipe and remove the cat altogether....

Exhuast: Apexi World Sport II is a great sound or Flowmaster makes a LOUD exhaust that's not fart-canish either....

Welcome to the forum and keep em coming!

 
  #4  
Old 04-07-2007, 12:06 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,969
Default RE: cam for J30A4?

Arghhh.....Apexi WS2 mufflers for 7th gens are only for coupes![:@]

Any good solid exhaust options for the 7th gen 4 CYL 4DR?
 
  #5  
Old 04-07-2007, 12:31 AM
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 430
Default RE: cam for J30A4?

there are some 7th gen owners who prefer borla over apexi w2
 
  #7  
Old 04-07-2007, 01:24 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,969
Default RE: cam for J30A4?

Yeah....that's what I plan on doing. Say, what's the difference between these two mufflers? I know one says TURBO, the other NA. My car does not have a turbo...but can I still use it? Ones a 60 mm inlet, the other an 80mm (turbo)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/APEXI...QQcmdZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/APEXI...QQcmdZViewItem

How much would the mandrel piping cost?
 
  #9  
Old 04-07-2007, 01:47 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,969
Default RE: cam for J30A4?

then 60mm it is...hey poser, if you have any suggestions go to my "EGAD" thread...I don't wanna hijack this thread any longer.

thanks!
 
  #10  
Old 04-08-2007, 04:37 AM
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 430
Default RE: cam for J30A4?

03 sleeper, i say forget a turbo, slap a k20 head on there if you wanna go turbo and mess with the internals to get added power. N/A ftw!
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: cam for J30A4?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.