Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Engine rev limit 4k RPM

  #2  
Old 12-19-2007, 03:54 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 999
Default RE: Engine rev limit 4k RPM

From what I've read around, it sounds like the ECU is in "limp mode".. meaning it's not controlling half of what it needs to to be able to get it to a shop.

Try resetting the ECU and see if it still does it, and if it does it might be necessary to read codes and/or take it to a shop.

Give it a few and I'm sure a more knowledgeable member will be around to help.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-2007, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 194
Default RE: Engine rev limit 4k RPM

its the crankshaft position sensor. mine use to do it, but i just reset the ecu, and it hasnt done it since.
[align=left] [/align]
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-2007, 02:42 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6,213
Default RE: Engine rev limit 4k RPM

Not sure .... check the DIY section.
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-2007, 02:45 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 999
Default RE: Engine rev limit 4k RPM

Per the DIY there's a 7.5a fuse to pull..

Otherwise if you don't have a radio code for security purposes (I didn't, but who knows on your friend's car) then you can pull a battery terminal and achieve the same outcome.

Leave whatever you pull out for a few min and when you start the car back up, don't have anything on, or touch the gas for at LEAST 5 minutes, I let mine run 10 minutes. This part is crucial since it's relearning everything
 
  #8  
Old 12-20-2007, 10:42 PM
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 129
Default RE: Engine rev limit 4k RPM

ORIGINAL: klrspz

From what I've read around, it sounds like the ECU is in "limp mode".. meaning it's not controlling half of what it needs to to be able to get it to a shop.

Try resetting the ECU and see if it still does it, and if it does it might be necessary to read codes and/or take it to a shop.

Give it a few and I'm sure a more knowledgeable member will be around to help.
That would make sense if his car had VTEC. But the 5th gen V6 were NON-VTEC and only available with an auto.
If his car had vtec and this happened, vtec wouldn't engage resulting in the car not reving past 4K RPM's
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Chris_Strick
General Tech Help
5
08-08-2013 12:03 PM
steven78418
Engine & Internal
4
11-09-2011 09:15 AM
Cusm2012
General Tech Help
3
03-23-2009 06:01 PM
corey
General Tech Help
7
07-02-2008 04:34 PM
TKAccord
General Tech Help
13
11-22-2007 05:12 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Engine rev limit 4k RPM


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.