Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Fuel Filter and EGR Valve Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2005, 02:00 PM
Default Fuel Filter and EGR Valve Replacement

All,

Just found the forum this morning, and already enjoying all the great information.

I have a 96 Accord EX 4-cylinder and like to do as much work myself as possible (oil changes, etc). I'm not an accomplished mechanic, but have tools and am willing to give things a shot if it's not too difficult. I'm looking at replacing my fuel filter and EGR valve, but don't know how difficult it is. Are these jobs relatively straightforward, or something to be left to a dealer for all but the diehard mechanics among us ? I don't believe these have been replaced in awhile, are they critical to be changes at certain intervals ?

Did not see these issues mentioned on the forums in past posts, hence my writing this post.

Thanks in advance,

Pete
Buckeye

Old 05-04-2005, 02:30 PM
Default RE: Fuel Filter and EGR Valve Replacement

Welcome!

Fuel filter is a job that requires a lot of dexterity and patience. First you need a special tool - like a special wrench head , it's the only way to access the back nut - and you can only get to it from the bottom ( I didn't try to do it from the top though ). 94-97 fuel filters are a mess, be prepared to be covered with gasoline In other words - it is doable but ain't worth your time and nerves if you dont have the tool nor the lift to lift up the car. I say pay the garage for replacement if labor is withing $50 it's ok.

about EGR Valve - why do you need it replaced? what is the problem?

Old 05-04-2005, 02:36 PM

My friend tried to change the fuel filter on his 95 accord and like stated above it was a mess and its not the easiest thing in the world to get to either IMO just take it to a trusted mechanic

Old 05-04-2005, 07:22 PM

Thanks for your help,