Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

H22a swap questions

  #2  
Old 07-19-2009, 12:19 AM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 118
Default

H22a is not a hard to find engine they are fairly common, so if its not right dont be afraid to walk away... theres lots of people on this forum who will be able to help you with the details thats just my 2 cents
 
  #3  
Old 01-31-2012, 04:28 AM
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah, I have done swaps in civics and Integra's, I am researching now wiring to put an H22A1 into my 98 accord EX-L sedan five speed. stock F23A1 in it currently. I found the entire engine, trans, dizzy, mani's, a/c, p/s, alt, drive axles, wire harness, pcm for 700 bucks, going to pick it up tomorrow, my point is find the swap, not always, but can be costly to piece it together.
 
  #4  
Old 02-01-2012, 08:26 AM
g22cd5's Avatar
Supper Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 3,894
Default

wiring a h22 in your 98 is easy. not much if any wiring needed.

if your f23 is vtec then you DON'T need to wire up vtec.

You just need to make sure your h22 is a obd2. If not you will need a obd2 to obd1 harness. Then you will need a p13 ecu (if staying stock) or p72 ecu with h22 basemap then get a tune asap.

If your obd2 I can't really think of anything hard you have to do wiring wise to make her work. Unless your f23 engine is a non vtec. Then you will need to wire up vtec. Not all that hard

Also you will need engine mounts. I recommend ESP mounts you can get a full set for like $300 shipped to you.

Also if you don’t maid instead of posting in all this old threads why don’t you make a thread for yourself? Then you can ask up to date questions and ppl will be more willing to answer them when it’s a fresh thread vs. a 2 year old thread….just sayin



explicitspeedperformance.net/ <----link for the ESP engine mounts
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-2012, 10:55 PM
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default Rywire harness?

I am ptting a 1994 VTEC JDM motor into my 1994Honda Accord that has a non VTEC motor in it now. QUESTION: will i need to buy a wiring harness adapter from Rywire?
 
  #6  
Old 03-25-2012, 11:41 AM
g22cd5's Avatar
Supper Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 3,894
Default

if the car is obd1 then no rewiring is needed other than wiring vtec. Then you will need a p13 ecu (if staying stock) or a p72 with a tune (if have aftermarket mods)

How to wire vtec - HondaSwap Forums
 
  #7  
Old 03-26-2012, 08:10 AM
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default H22A rewiring

thanks so much, so no new wiring harness...what is a P13?
 
  #8  
Old 03-26-2012, 03:22 PM
g22cd5's Avatar
Supper Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 3,894
Default

no you don’t need new wiring harness if you wire up vtec yourself. p13 is stock h22 ecu
 
  #9  
Old 03-27-2012, 09:51 AM
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default rewiring?

thank yo sjo much for your reponse...but what exactly do yo mean "do the rewiring yourself"?........does that mean just using the wiring harness that comes with the JDM motor/ecu/tranny and hooking up to the other side of the wires that exist in the car now? No new wires or plugs tomake up?
 
  #10  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:00 AM
g22cd5's Avatar
Supper Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 3,894
Default

H22 Guide (working title) - CD5Tuner Forums


H22 SWAP: The Complete Parts List - CB7Tuner Forums

read thos links they will tell you EVERYTHING you need to know.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: H22a swap questions


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.