Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???

  #1  
Old 02-01-2006, 05:03 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 110
Default Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???

I was wondering if a transmition from my f22 engine ('97 accord lx coupe) would work on an h22 engine? if yes, what possible mods that need to be done to make it fit?
 
  #2  
Old 02-01-2006, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 569
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???

F-series (not f20c) and H-series trannies should be a bolt-up affair.
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-2006, 09:19 PM
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 94
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???

It should bolt right up. The taller gears will make it slower than an H22 tranny though.
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:24 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,475
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???

You will want to verify this, but the fitting for the slave cyl might not match up.
 
  #5  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:41 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 110
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???

thanx everyone
 
  #6  
Old 02-03-2006, 01:23 AM
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 94
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???

The slave cylinder is bolted onto the transmission so it will be fine. You might have to use the F22 fly wheel.
 
  #7  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 569
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???


ORIGINAL: 7thGen

The slave cylinder is bolted onto the transmission so it will be fine. You might have to use the F22 fly wheel.
The same flywheels and clutches fit all F-series and H-series transmissions.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-2006, 08:34 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 110
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???


ORIGINAL: 6thgen


ORIGINAL: 7thGen

The slave cylinder is bolted onto the transmission so it will be fine. You might have to use the F22 fly wheel.
The same flywheels and clutches fit all F-series and H-series transmissions.
But as someone said before, there are setbacks, right?
 
  #9  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:27 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,768
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???

yea the f22 tranny will bolt right up. dont use it unless your running turbo with a vtec controller. youll notice when you shift with it that the rpms drop well below stock vtec point with the f22 tranny.



lightshow
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-2006, 03:14 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 110
Default RE: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???


ORIGINAL: lightshow

yea the f22 tranny will bolt right up. dont use it unless your running turbo with a vtec controller. youll notice when you shift with it that the rpms drop well below stock vtec point with the f22 tranny.



lightshow
yep, that's what i was planning to do anyway. but actually i wanted to completely strip the block and put in lightweight pistons, titanium valves, new cams, all the good engine goodies to get the maximum. besides i don't know how the engine was conditioned so that would be another reason to completely replace the valve train and the lower block assembly, on top of that do some serious weight reduction to the engine.
But yeah, thanx for the advise.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Manual tranny for an h22 from f22???


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.