Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

New car, new to forum

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2010, 02:27 PM
Default New car, new to forum

Ok, Im new to Hondas so need yall advice. Been a ford man but 4x4s cost too much and dont get used enough so I bought a 97 accord wit f22b motor which has bullfrog heads, port and polished, valve job, mild street cam, port and polished throttle body, ignition system, intake, full exhaust, fuel rail, msd wires and distributor. front and rear sway bars, strut bars, lowered, body kit, aftermarket hood, new leather interior and thats as much as I can remember. Didn't do the work so i'm not sure exactly what all it has. First off it has a click in valve cover. Not too bad but bothers me. Goes wih rpms. Noticed it idles a lil shaky and sometimes takes a few turns to turn over. With all the work thats in motor it doesnt seem to have enough power. I want more but don't know whats left to do besides go into block which has 217k in it so might be time for rebuild anyways. I'm very mechanically inclined but been workin on 4x4s. Not too much on imports. Anyways, im askin for yall imput on clickin, shakiness (cam?), and curious since it has soo much work on heads if i'm better with what I have or should I put dohc, or h22? Would It be pointless and would any of the aftermarket parts I have still fit? Don't know what else I could do to motor? Sorry for all the questions but I just got the car and have been reading threads but havent really found answers for my Qs. Very excited about this car and just can't have a new car without starting a new project. Thanks for yall input. Any will be appreciated. Not expecting all questions answered. This is just whats goin on in my head.

Old 08-27-2010, 04:51 PM
Supper Moderator