Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Turbo for automatics?

  #1  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:42 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default Turbo for automatics?

This may be the dumbest question ever, but im dumb, so whatever....Is there Turbos for Automatics?
My buddys said there is, but they exspensive, if anyone has a link to show me, let me know
 
  #2  
Old 12-16-2007, 08:15 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,357
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

Yes you can turbocharge an automatic. Take a look at..Saab, Subaru, diesel trucks, honda, ....etc.

By the wording of your question it seems you don't quite have the concept of turbocharging so I'd suggest searching the site and reading up or hit up google or wikipedia.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-2007, 03:54 PM
00AccordLX5spd's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 4,322
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

turbo has nothing at all to do with the transmission. you need to do some research. turboing an auto trans car would bea tradgedy in my opinion....a total waste of time and money(no offense kevinaccord)
 
  #4  
Old 12-16-2007, 03:56 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

Well I was thinking of converting it to a manual, but Its so time consumeing and i hate paying labor fees....
 
  #5  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:03 PM
00AccordLX5spd's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 4,322
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

you're better off selling that one and buying a manual trans accord. the cost of the swap (if you don't do it youself) would be more than the car is worth
 
  #6  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:12 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

ive been trying to sell it for $4,000 But no one is interested yet.
 
  #7  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:14 PM
00AccordLX5spd's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 4,322
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

If you wanted to swap to manual and pay a shop to do it, you would probably spend that much in the end. Plus I I think you would have to use an older model Acura Legend transmission. I'm not positive which one fits. I guess the year models that used the 2.7
 
  #8  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:16 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

Well I would much rather sell my car for 4 grand, but i took out a personal loan, so i would have to pay my loan officer the 4 grand and take out a bigger loan to buy a nicer car, but i got my 95' for only 2,900 so i took the deal....I got the check engine light to go off, and did the exhaust and put corner lights in, so it doesnt look and or sound like total crap anymore....Do you think i could get 4 grand out of it?
 
  #9  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:17 PM
00AccordLX5spd's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 4,322
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

How many miles are on it?
 
  #10  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:21 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default RE: Turbo for automatics?

187k last time i checked
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Turbo for automatics?


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.