Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

V-tec

  #1  
Old 06-12-2007, 02:27 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BEAN_TOWN
Posts: 34
Default V-tec

I have a 96 accord and wanted to add a little more power to my car on of my friends told me to get the v-tec head and put it in. and he also said to get the chip and put that in as well. what do you guys think about that.
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-2007, 07:42 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,357
Default RE: V-tec

Don't chip it..
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-2007, 11:11 PM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 332
Default RE: V-tec

Yes don't use a chip. If you absolutely want to change the ECU then get a stand alone ECU that you can just plug in and reprogram when you want. Chips are only effective if the programmer knows all of your engine details and mods, and if you don't add any mods on after you put the chip in. And there are a lot cheaper and easier ways to get more power without swapping the head too. Look at what you want to do as far as end results to your car and engine, then make a plan from that. Just throwing parts at it as you come across them can be ineffective, expensive, and possibly even damaging.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
martinez289
General Tech Help
17
03-01-2013 06:33 AM
WoooSaaahh!!!
Off Topic
4
02-01-2007 08:48 PM
nyclocoengineer
Engine & Internal
3
10-21-2006 02:49 PM
Engine & Internal
4
03-08-2006 02:42 PM
Evlampius
General Tech Help
4
05-17-2005 10:51 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: V-tec


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.