General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

03 Acc V6 - blue or green? mixing?

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2018, 11:58 AM
Default 03 Acc V6 - blue or green? mixing?

Hi, I just acquired a 2003 Honda Accord EX V6 with about 170-180k miles on it on short notice. (meaning I had no time to really inspect the car or look at a service car, I had an emergency requiring a car by this monday because my other car kept catching fire and I drove it home literally last night) It seemed low on coolant (or/and I couldn't tell) so I topped it off with some "safe for all cars" green coolant. Then I remember hearing about "honda blue" coolant (I am not an expert) yet I dont even know if this car came with blue coolant or whether it matters... I couldn't see anything int he overflow tank so didn't notice a color at the time when I added the green, I just didn't want the car to be low on it's maiden drive home.

Did I just screw something up? If I did would a full coolant drain be required ASAP or is it something that could wait a little... i'm very short on money (I got this car on a "pay me when you have the money" basis so beggars cant be choosers) and don't even have another $100 or whatever someone might charge to flush everything when I already have to do other small repairs to the car. (will post about those soon but it's missing and throwing a code about misfires periodically) Ive never even done a flush before and wasn't sure how to do it so i'd rather not, or rather wait if I could. (other than hearing it involves a garden hose and believe it or not I have no access to one I can use where I have to be driving the car for now either so can't DIY if it requires that to flush things - I live in a place with broken plumbing incl the outdoor hose)

Old 09-23-2018, 12:45 PM
Super Moderator

Did you add coolant to the radiator or just the overflow bottle?