General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2000 Honda Accord Transmission problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2010, 04:13 PM
Default 2000 Honda Accord Transmission problem

I bought a 2000 Honda accord 79k original miles. I think it has the recall transmission death. I bought it knowing this for a good price it is very clean and basically got the car for nothing. I tried lucas in the trans but i am still geting the slip from 1-2 and 2-3 very slight slip but a nasty jar when it comes to a stop, or shifting into drive from park. I think it may be the torque converter from what i have read thus far. Is there anyway to tell if i can get by with just the $200 dollar part torque converter? Or is it probably going to be the entire transmission? Also, does anybody have the torque converter R+R procedure. I am planning on doing the work myself in my shop after hours i used to be a mechanic but now do welding because its alot easier.

Thanks

Old 10-04-2010, 09:03 PM

Originally Posted by 2khondaaccordflip
I bought a 2000 Honda accord 79k original miles. I think it has the recall transmission death. I bought it knowing this for a good price it is very clean and basically got the car for nothing. I tried lucas in the trans but i am still geting the slip from 1-2 and 2-3 very slight slip but a nasty jar when it comes to a stop, or shifting into drive from park. I think it may be the torque converter from what i have read thus far. Is there anyway to tell if i can get by with just the $200 dollar part torque converter? Or is it probably going to be the entire transmission? Also, does anybody have the torque converter R+R procedure. I am planning on doing the work myself in my shop after hours i used to be a mechanic but now do welding because its alot easier.

Thanks