General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2001 Accord Transmission Problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2011, 12:25 PM
Default 2001 Accord Transmission Problems

I just bought a 2001 Accord 2 weeks ago. (165k miles) The previous owner said that he replaced the transmission a little over a year ago, but it still shifts a little hard when the weather is cold.

Sure enough, about a week after I bought it I didnt let it warm up enough and it wouldnt shift into 2nd gear and then the CEL came on. Later that evening I let the car warm up and it shifted perfectly.

I took the car in to find out what the CEL was, and it said that the transmission fluid was low.

So.. 2 questions.

Should I be worried about my transmission, or does it always have problems when you dont let it warm up enough?

And second, noob here.. Where is the damn transmission fluid located? I couldnt find it anywhere to check it.

Thanks.

Old 12-05-2011, 01:34 PM

Alot of thoes cars do not shift in to 2ed very well when cold change transmisson fluid use only honda fluid. Drain plug is under car use a 3/8 ratchit to remove it also use a new crush ring you will need 3qt. fluid fill is on frount of tranny. yellow cap on stick god luck1

Old 12-05-2011, 03:58 PM
Super Moderator

I don't like to be the barer of bad news, especially for someone that just bought a car, but the 98-02 accords had catastrophic automatic transmission problems. The v6s had it worse than the 4 cylinders(I don't know what yours is), but the 4 cylinders were by no means exempt. There are stories of people replacing the tranny 4 or 5 times over a rather short amount of time.

I would get the fluid changed, and let the car warm up before driving. Also I would take it easy on it, as its more of a when not if the transmission will go.

Old 12-05-2011, 11:04 PM