General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

2002 Accord P0730 & P0780

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2010, 11:22 AM
Default 2002 Accord P0730 & P0780

Well my wifes Accord seems to be on it's last legs. I recall a service bulliten that came out shortly after we bought our car but the dealership said it wasn't affected. Now I'm thinking otherwise.

Symptoms: CEL, P0780 code first time it occured, now P0730 as well. The tranny appears to be locking up into a high gear when it throws the P0730 code. There is a flare when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear (engine revs before 2nd lock in place). I gather from my wife it has been happening a lot. The flairing has been going on for months but the CEL and codes are new as of two days ago. And it couldn't happen at a better time, I'm leaving for a 2 month work trip next week. Well I guess she could drive my truck while I'm gone but I'd rather fix her car.

I'm only a weekend mechanic so I don't have a lot of tools but I can rebuild an engine, replace a clutch, you know, regular stuff. Automatic Transmissions, never touched those before.

I did search here for P0780 code and found 13 references, none were a perfect fit for my situation. I searched the hell out of the internet last night and this morning, not as much out there as I would have hoped for.

Anyway, I would appreciate any help someone could lend me. My goal is to limp the car along until the end of the year at a minimum until I return home.

Thanks,
Joe

Old 10-23-2010, 11:36 AM
Administrator

Besides that PM I sent you here is a greatest of all great link to the subject..All members should put this in your Favorites area..your gonna need it very soon and now even if you rotate your tires anytime and have the years of vehicles that these TPMS's cover...

WheelBrokerAng www.whytpms.com

Old 10-23-2010, 12:58 PM

Originally Posted by WheelBrokerAng