General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6th Gen - mulitplex interchangability

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2014, 06:02 PM
Default 6th Gen - mulitplex interchangability

Noob here,
Great to see all the helpful posts - hope I haven';t missed this one - so here goes
'00 Accord LX sedan - 92K original miles
recent HARSH winter = 6+ times w/ temps at -10 to -15F
now have a rash of electrical problems: (cold caused or just age?)
Door locks won't work - although I can hear something "trying" to work on the P side of dash (multiplexer). Fuse blows as blades approach contact points on fuse block.
Dash lights/wipers/HVAC fan all "surge" (if lit, they become brighter) (if powered - like blower fan or wipers, they move/run faster. Also - hi beams don't work (though light on dash says that they are on) and now cruise main switch is inoperative.
Recently replaced trans (2.3L/Vtec) and trans selector switch.
Question:
What years are the passenger side multiplex unit interchangeable? - got 1 from a '98 from a sedan that had almost all bells and whistles. Will it work?
I still plan to take DR door apart to search for shorted wires or inop actuator.
I also am going to swap out my old alternator for one from the salvage yard - all at the same time.
Any help/direction to other areas on this or other sites appreciated - flames accepted because I am all thumbs w/ computers, but not wrenches. This - despite the fact that removing the P multiplex unit was a real PITA!
Thanks,
Al
BTW - all electrical problems started 14+ months ago with - Tad-ah!! a self-engaging horn that wouldn't quit starting at 5:30AM in XMAS DAY! Has happened 3x times - I have cut the wires - fuses fine - horn switch/airbag ***'y issue? The more I try to troubleshoot - the more confusing this gets.

Old 10-06-2014, 09:32 PM
Super Moderator

Does your car have a security system installed?

Old 10-06-2014, 09:42 PM