General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

92 Accord LX Chokes/Dies Under Load

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2014, 12:57 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default 92 Accord LX Chokes/Dies Under Load

I have been driving this car for a couple years now and it's been very reliable. She's got around 220k miles on her (she's a manual tranny btw) and I was certain issues were due to appear and they most certainly did. First I had the random no start which long story short, turned out to be the Master Fuel Relay. I purchased a new one and now she starts every time. Cool.

During the time I was waiting for the new relay to appear in my mailbox, I had ordered a new fuel pump and installed it before the new relay. Once I got the car running after installing the new relay, I noticed a random tendency to very slightly try to choke under acceleration from a stop. I figured something may have come loose in the fuel lines or something that just needed to work itself out.

Drove it to work the next day (I work 40 miles away from home) and on the way back she started trying to choke any time I would accelerate after decelerating. (I'm going 70 and slow down to 65 and then try to get back to 70 again.) It would clear up if I tapped on the throttle again a few times and accelerate and hold speed fine from there. Once I got off the freeway, you get to a stop light and that's where it really tries to die. Low idle while sitting at a red and tries to choke during acceleration. After the initial period of trying to die, it would clear up and then would drive fine. Until I make it to the next stop.

I made it home and let her sit. Time to diagnose. I did a very basic check for spark by pulling a wire from each plug while the engine was running. All cylinders were firing fine. I also pulled the plug from each injector and all injectors seem to be spraying fine.