General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

95 accord lx

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2010, 08:45 AM
Default 95 accord lx

95 accord lx. 4 cylinder. vtec i believe. Just picked it up off craiglists. 64k miles supposedly, and the guy was very eager to sell for a friend..... I think i know why...

I am not a mechanic. Car is rough. When we first test drove it sometimes would not start. We attributed to sitting over winter/ yucky gas. We bought it. Drove it to near town, put fresh gas in her. We actually pushed it to the pump.

Car made it about 30 miles (i was not driving) began to overheat. Pulled into Autozone. Got some fresh coolant. It drank a bunch. Also bought a new radiator cap. original was junk. It was spewing into overflow and out cap.

Let it cool down. Would not restart. it was late, drove good car home.
Went back next day...would not start. Took off air filter apparatus to spray starting fluid. did not work. Have spark and 12v at coil (distributor???). Also have spark at spark plug.

Decided to pull plugs. Here is the kicker.... You guys know these engines. The plugs are like in a rubber boot, tucked in the valve cover???? Anyway, These boots were COVERED in OIL. More so passenger side plug, than the driver side plug.

What did I get myself into??????

thank you very much.... Appreciate any input.

Old 03-25-2010, 08:52 AM
Super Moderator

Sparkplug tube seals are part of the valvecover gasket "set". That can be an easy fix. A "non-mechanic" should be able to do this.

The rest of the story, is there's another set of seals down lower in the sparkplug tubes. Those have O-rings and they require you remove the valvegear & camshaft bearing caps. It's a bigger job, but OK for experienced DIY-er. You say you're not a mechanic, so maybe this one's for a shop to do.

Old 03-25-2010, 09:08 AM