General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

98 Accord 2.3L auot rebuilt gear engagement question

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2014, 10:46 AM
Default 98 Accord 2.3L auot rebuilt gear engagement question

hello all!

Newbie here! Thanks for the add. Hoping to get some advise on trans issue..

I have a 98 2.3L accord lx with the auto trans and 109k miles, and recently rebuilt by a local shop. The previous trans had the common issue of delay or no shift between the 1st and 2nd gear. I was told by the mechanic it was full rebuild with all new internals/gears etc. The trans seems to shift lot better now although i only drove down the block and back.

My concern is:

When in park and while engine running, i press on the brake pedal and move shifter to drive or reverse, it takes few seconds for the actual gear to engage (either drive or reverse), and when it does, it comes with a great jerk (like it takes forever and then it slams into that gear). This was happening with the old trans, prior to rebuilding..

Is this normal? If not, how to fix this delay?

The transmission seems to be shifting great, but i could not pick up the car yesterday as there seems to be a small leak in the axle/seal area of the passanger side of the trans and the mechanic is working on that today.

The mechanic told me that "jerking or slamming" is caused its new parts(bearings) and they need to "break-in", but I obviously do not believe that, since it was happening with the old trans..

Any advise would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Old 06-18-2014, 11:49 AM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

What is idle speed? I have a noticeable delay in my 94EX when shifting from R to D, especially cold. However I listen/feel for the eventual tiny bump indicating shift is completed before driving. No real problem. However, if the idle speed were elevated, perhap 1200-1500 rpm then a much harder shift would occur.