General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ac help

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2014, 06:09 PM
Default ac help

98 honda accord 2.3 vtec.

Ac was compressor was cycling very quickly a few days ago, Figured it was low so i put a can in it without hooking up gauges..was still cycling quickly an than i heard a loud sound come from down by the compressor everytime the clutch engaged..(see pic) the little thing i circled started spraying out freon everytime the clutch engaged..never seen that before and im not a mechanic but pretty inclined... As of right now when the compressor is off i have 92 lbs on the low side an when it turns on for a split second it drops down to about 75.. ac does not get cold but the clutch will engage for a split second every 15-20 seconds.. Its hott as hell outside.. anyone with advice please???

Attached Thumbnails ac help-accomp.jpg  
Old 05-17-2014, 09:38 AM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

You likely have overcharged the system. Sound is pressure relief valve releasing when high side pressure exceeds relief pressure.

Initially, the problem could have been almost anything that caused AC to cycle on/off, perhaps even low charge. However, more likely something that was causing high pressure switch to open the compressor to prevent overpressure. You may have a system blockage; debris in receiver/drier, expansion valve blocking flow.

You could reduce charge level and try to recover to initial conditions (rapid cycling) to confirm blockage. Sometimes a cold spot downstream of the reciever/drier will confirm blockage at the receiver drier. Normally, this should be quite warm.