General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AC revs to red line

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2006, 03:37 AM
johnnyge
Unregistered
Default AC revs to red line

I've got a 1985 Accord, 1.8L?, 4cyl, 12 valve. When I turn on the AC compressor, the engine revs up to the red line if I let it. When I click off the AC, it immediately goes back to normal idle. Any ideas??? I'm new at this, so be gentle. Thanks!!!!!

Old 04-03-2006, 04:18 PM
Default RE: AC revs to red line

sounds like a relay or vacum relay of some sort.... I would look for loose or cracked/broken vacuum hoses to start with... Is everything else in the car acting normal and working ok? Has this ever worked before?

Old 04-05-2006, 02:42 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

ok so when the car is idling normally the idle is set to have the engine run at a certain rpm. when you turn on the compressor, there is an extra drag on the motor and if this wasnt compensated for, the motor would probably stall. so there is a system that engages to increase the rpm a little to compensate for the extra drag. i like the idea of it maybe being a hose but i just dont know that much about those old hondas.

Old 04-05-2006, 12:49 PM

I mentioned a hose or vacuum line based on some prior issues I've seen with 81 Chevy Citation's.... I don't know if it still applies but a few times when I had weird issues it was a hose going to the carb..... I would start with everything connected to the carb, trace them back to their source and make sure that they are connected and not dry rotted or broken. Then look for missing hoses/un-plugged items that are supposed to be capped.... Then I'd check everything around the distributor.... Hope that adds a little light.... Be sure you post the fix on here when you get it fixed if you could! Thanks

Old 04-23-2006, 09:44 PM
johnnyge
Unregistered