General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Brake trouble. Yes I searched.

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2013, 11:04 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Brake trouble. Yes I searched.

First post here. God, I hate being the newb. Anyway. I'm not new to working on my own cars and saving myself some labor cost. I've been doing my own work for over 25 years, but I'm at my wit's end on this one. My daughter drives a 1994 Accord LX non ABS brakes. Front disc with rear drum. She has the dreaded no brake pedal problem. The brakes have always been kinda low, probably 1/2 to 3/4 to the floor. But now they sink right down. The car will never stop in any kind of emergency, never mind daily driving. I've read so many threads, I've got a headache. I've followed every how-to and fix-it that's out there, with no result. All the symptoms point to the MC or brake bleeding. I've done the MC twice. I used different vendors with the same part from Cardone ( 1 from Rockauto and 1 from Advance Auto Parts ). Both were bench bled correctly. All four corners of the system bled with solid stream of fluid from each one. I used the RR, LF, LR, RF sequence. I used a Harbor Freight one person part, and also did it the old school way. With my son pumping the brakes while I worked the bleeders. I'm getting a good vacuum at the booster also. It's holding a vacuum when I turn the car off. Check valve is working correctly. No leaks or inflated brake lines in the system. Proportion valve not leaking. No lose of brake fluid at all. Most results I've found in my searching are the MC. I guess I replaced that for nothing. So, all parts check out fine. WTF am I missing ? I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty, just lost right now.

Old 05-12-2013, 11:17 AM
Newest Of Newbies

To add 1 more thing. I did notice the back brake adjusters are maxed out. The shoes seem like they're thick enough. If that matters at all to the problem.

Old 05-12-2013, 11:23 AM