General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

broken harmonic balancer on 89 two-door accord

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2007, 02:19 PM
Default broken harmonic balancer on 89 two-door accord

The harmonic balancer on my buddy's accord broke. The fly-wheel is now hanging and both belts broke. He gave me the car for practically nothing. I will actually make money on it ifI take it to a junk yard. However, I would really like to get it fixed and make it a commuter car. It is a 1989 two-door EX, and it was running fine before this happened. He said he had spent about 4,000 dollars on the car in the past 2 or 3 years. I know he put a new distributor, master cylinder, and some other things. I am a college student, and I was just wanting some advice or any opinions anyone might have. I am not sure if it is worth taking to a mechanic because I don't quite know the extent of the damage or what it would cost me to get it fixed. I don't know if it would be better to just take it to a junk yard and make a little money on it.

Any Help Would Be Greatly Appreciated,

Rory

Old 08-15-2007, 02:54 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: broken harmonic balancer on 89 two-door accord

Be a bit more specific. Which two belts broke? (The A/C and P.S. belt or the two timing belts)

Also, when you said the fly-wheel is hanging, did you mean that the harmonic balancer is hanging?

Old 08-15-2007, 02:58 PM

You say the car was running fine before the balancer failed. To me this means that ifthe balancer isreplaced, the car will run fine again.(You should ask your friend if the timing belt was also replaced recently.)