General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

can a 90 honda accord dx be moderatley tuned up for cheap?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2006, 01:04 PM
Default can a 90 honda accord dx be moderatley tuned up for cheap?

I probably be gettin a 90 honda accord dx soon and ive always wanted to have a car that can be tuned up. Unfortunatley its an auto... but im just ranting. So besides bolt ons what else can be done....not lookin into a swap since it only has 73-76k on it and no nos and turbo out of q for now...broke college student lol. o also what could i do for weight reduc since its kinda heavy. thanks. Oh and by the way im a noob if ya havent noticed but this forum seems quite nicer than others ive seen.

Old 08-01-2006, 01:52 PM
Default RE: can a 90 honda accord dx be moderatley tuned up for cheap?

Well we'll start with weight reduction... You can remove your spare tire (not really advisable). Remove your trunk lining and crap as well. Pull your rear seats. remove the carpet and seperate the carpet and the "padding" and put just the carpet back in. You can remove door panels, scrap the A/C and pull the alternator out. There's a TON of stuff you can do it's just a matter of how much work you want to to do. You can also remove the front and rear bumper "linings" big steal pieces under there and then just weld a piece of round steel back in it's place (that should save you almost 100 lbs)

As far as cheap tune up stuff there's not a whole lot. You could do little tune ups I.E. replace spark plugs, cap rotor and wires. Fuel injector cleaner. You could try advancing your timing a few degrees (may make the car harder to start), spend $40.00 and get a short ram air intake...

Old 08-01-2006, 01:55 PM