General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing Brake Fluid

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2009, 12:52 PM
Dr. Jimbo
Unregistered
Default Changing Brake Fluid

Newbie here. I drive an S2000 but today I get to replace Mom's brake master cylinder on her '90 Accord. I read the DIY on changing the master cylinder (great write up, by the way) and I have a couple of questions. (I couldn't find the answer when I did a search)

The '90 Accord has 42k miles on it and I doubt the brake fluid has ever been changed. I understand how water gets in and swells the seals in the master cylinder (and I think that's why it went bad). If I change the fluid in the entire system, will that affect the seals at the calipers and cause them to shrink and eventually leak? Or is it better to just leave the old fluid in the lines and let it be. I understand that if I bench bleed the master, I may not need to bleed the entire system.

BTW, I was gonna upload an avatar, but I guess I don't have those rights yet.

Thanks in advance,
Jimbo

Old 07-23-2009, 01:27 PM
Super Moderator

I'd bleed the system to get fresh fluid throughout. It's not so much swelling of the seals, but as brake fluid absorbs moisture it gets corrosive.

Be careful opening up the bleed valves at each wheel. They're easy to break. Soak in PB Blaster or Kroil overnight. Hold the wrench to apply pure torque with no bending. Cross your fingers & toes & have plenty of beer on hand in case they break anyway.

Bench bleeding doesn't really avoid the need to bleed the brakes. It just avoids the problem of having to bleed again & again to work the last stubborn bubble out from the master cylinder.

42k miles? There's people around here who put almost that many on each year.

I'm gonna move this to General Tech since it probably won't result in a big new procedure write-up.

Old 07-23-2009, 01:41 PM
Dr. Jimbo
Unregistered