General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Clutch replacement 2004 Honda Accord EX 5 speed manual

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2019, 10:16 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Clutch replacement 2004 Honda Accord EX 5 speed manual

Good evening from Florida,

I just replaced the clutch in my 2004 Honda Accord Ex 5 speed manual, 2.4L 4 door. I am not a mechanic, but pretty decent at following instructions. I did my research, watched a couple of youtube videos and read the shop manual. So far everything has been going okay i am in the process of putting everything back together but ran into a couple of problems.

1. The passenger side Axle bracket has three 14mm bolts, I can not get the bottom bolt to bite. I tried using a different bolt and it just freely spins and never bites. I unmounted the bracket and re-alinged it but it did not help. The axle is pushed into the tranny but not connected to the wheel assembly at all yet. I have included a picture, any suggestions? Do you think I can safely use the car with just two of the three bolts in place?

2. Same axle, passenger side when I seated it back into the transmission i noticed this metal ring popped loose and won't pop back on, its just freely spinning and since it wont pop back on i feel like its going to spin and bounce along the axle when i drive. Can I put a little glue or JB Weld to seat the ring back on?

Thanks for any advice or tips you may have!

Ring separated and spins freely. 2004 Honda Accord EX 5 speed manual passenger side axle

None of the three bolts will bite in this hole. 2004 Honda Accord EX 5 speed manual passenger side axle

Old 04-09-2019, 12:13 AM
Super Moderator