General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ECM codes, oil change and fluids

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2011, 09:54 AM
Default ECM codes, oil change and fluids

Hello, I'm new to the Honda cars and I recently picked up a 1996 Honda Accord 4 door LX 4-cyl. The car has 230k miles and runs good! Everything still works and I'm pleasently surprised at how it drives with this many miles. If the odometer didn't say so I would swear this car has half those miles. It would appear that the first tank of gas I've run through it is going to net in the low 20's for gas mileage. I expected it to be higher with this car and a 4-cyl. This is mixed city and highway miles.

Anyways, a couple of questions. The check engine light is on so i went to Autozone and had them read the codes:

1. P0135 sensor 1 heater system malfunction
2. P0141 Secondary circuit heater malfunction
3. P0401 EGR insufficient flow

The guy at Autozone said it appeared that this could all be the primary O2 sensor not working correctly which could cause the other two to kick on. I would like to hear what you think about that. I read on another thread that if I trace back the wire and measure the resistance (should be 10ohms) that would give me a clue. If it is an open circuit that would definetely be bad.

Also, with this many miles, the oil appears the have not been changed recently so I'm going to change that and the filter. Any thoughts on what to use? When I was at Autozone I saw a package deal with Pennzoil 'High Mileage' oil and filter for $20. What about the ATF? I don't have any manuals or books so is there a place to find directions on changing that out?

Any ideas would be very appreciated.

Thanks!

Mike

Old 01-23-2011, 10:04 AM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Suggest resetting ECU (pull BackUp fuse in underhood fuse box for 15-20 secs) and see what codes return.