General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

electrical system help needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2009, 07:59 PM
Default electrical system help needed

Greetings,

88 accord hatchback 5sp. The "brake lamp" light on the instrument panel stays lit and every bulb on the car is fine. I've replaced the brake light sw. The car is custumized and in the process I installed a lighted spoiler and removed the hatch window brake light. I used the same wires that went to the hatch light to wire the spoiler light. I've tried direct grounding to the chassis as well as using the supplied gr/wh. hot and blk gnd. I do have the service manual but it is of little help. On the wiring schematic there is an arrow pointing to the R rear brake light with the words, "brake light failure sensor", but I see nothing there.This has got me really frustrated. I've been working on the problem, off and on, for 8 yrs. ANY IDEAS

thanks

brian

Old 07-31-2009, 09:40 PM
Super Moderator

Is the brake light on the dash the one that turns on when you pull up the emergency brake?

Last edited by PAhonda; 07-31-2009 at 09:47 PM.
Old 07-31-2009, 09:59 PM
Super Moderator

You can download a shop manual for an 86 accord in the Online Manuals thread in the DIY section.

Here are the locations that the manual shows for the failure sensors and the control unit.

Attached Thumbnails electrical system help needed-control.jpg   electrical system help needed-sensor.jpg  
Old 08-01-2009, 04:38 AM

Originally Posted by PAhonda
Is the brake light on the dash the one that turns on when you pull up the emergency brake?
Nope, that one works as it's supposed to. It's the one that shows if any doors are open or the rear hatch is open. It also has a "brake lamp" light.

Old 08-01-2009, 04:42 AM

Originally Posted by PAhonda
You can download a shop manual for an 86 accord in the Online Manuals thread in the DIY section.