General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Engine sputtering after it warms up need help bad

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2013, 10:30 PM
Default Engine sputtering after it warms up need help bad

I have a 92' Honda Accord, it's my first car and i love it to death even in it's beaten shape. One back window won't roll all the way up and the other back window is glued shut cause it won't stay shut, but that's not the serious problem i'm having. EVERY SO OFTEN WHEN I'M DRIVING AND MY ENGINE WARMS UP IT'LL START TO SPUTTER SOMETIMES, I'LL EITHER HAVE TO PRESS THE ACCELERATOR ALL THE WAY DOWN OR LET IT SHIFT TO THE NEXT GEAR AND CONTINUE TO ACCELERATE AGAIN. I'VE LOOKED UP MULTIPLE THREADS AND I HEAR SPARK PLUGS AND SPARK PLUG WIRES A LOT, BUT I ALSO HEAR A LOT I DON'T QUITE UNDERSTAND, I'M NOT A MECHANIC BUT I DO LOVE MY CAR AND I JUST WANT HIM RUNNING RIGHT AGAIN.
CAR SPECIFICS: 92' HONDA ACCORD EX 4 DR 4 SPEED AUTOMATIC.
ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED

Old 05-04-2013, 08:54 AM
Super Moderator

Please do not post in the DIY Section - there are posts/stickies in there noting this.

I've moved this to General Tech.

Old 05-04-2013, 10:22 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

EGR? Check out this sticky:

90-93 EGR service bulletin

Old 05-04-2013, 12:31 PM
Super Moderator

If the tune up items are due, replace them just to rule them out.

Does the CEL come on at any point? Even if it does not, check for stored codes. If there are any, write them down. Reset the ECU/TCU. Drive the car, does the CEL come back? If so re-check codes. What are they?

Old 05-06-2013, 01:13 PM

the CEL does come on but only after about the time the car warms up, i'm gonna change my spark plugs and the wires just to knock those out as you said, but i just got done fixing a brake light switch so it could be a few days before i get to the actual tune up

Old 05-07-2013, 06:48 PM
Super Moderator