General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

First Oil Change

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2012, 12:50 PM
Default First Oil Change

First of all, I am a complete newbie and am looking to change that when it comes to cars.

I have a leased 2012 Honda Accord SE (4 cylinder, 2.4L) here in Florida with 4325 miles on it since April of this year. I've always been going to places like Midas to have my oil change done, but I want to start doing my own oil changes.

I've been looking at these forums and watching videos online in regards to DIY oil changes, and I just have some questions.

The manual states "always use a premium grade 0w-20 detergent" and "Honda Motor Oil is the preferred 0w-20 lubricant" however it also says "you may use a synthetic motor oil if it meets the same requirements given for a conventional motor oil."

1) This last statement seems to imply that I may or may not have to use synthetic? And I thought 0w-20 only comes in synthetic?

2) Also, does this mean I should NOT ever use 5w-20 conventional oil. I know the obvious answer is "do what the manual says," but I guess my newbie self would have continued to go to Midas for $25 conventional oil changes if I did not start looking into these things. (previously was driving a 2008 accord)

3) And last question: because I will be using synthetic, I don't want to waste it by having oil changes every 3000 miles. I know this has been debated heavily and is variable due to driving habits, but is there a general range I can keep in mind? I'm thinking I'll do oil changes at the lower end of this range.

Thanks in advance!

(when I do my own oil change, I plan on using Mobil 1 0w-20 with a Filtech filter from the dealer)

Old 12-02-2012, 01:11 PM
Super Moderator

1) & 2) The ratings of oil are on the back of the bottle....make sure it is "ok".