General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

have a problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2009, 01:57 PM
Default have a problem

first hi im new, i have a problem lol

i just bought a 93 accord ex with an auto for $300 cuz it wont start, i have googled the problem and still cant figure this out, one post said the ecu groud wire, or a solder problem with the main relay? and im new to hondas too lol

anyways i put my ear to the tank and i hear the fuel pump turn on, i pulled the #4 plug and i got spark from it but havent done the rest yet.. i sprayed starting fluid into the throttle with it wide open and it wouldnt start..

and i do have a 1990 ex 5 speed that runs and drives if i need to use some parts to test on the 93..

any suggestions?? thanks alot

Old 08-23-2009, 03:04 PM
Super Moderator

If you have a timing light, hook it up to each cylinder. Make sure that the spark plugs are on the distributor in the proper order.

Sounds like your MFR is working, since you heard the fuel pump kick on. Starting fluid should cause the car to run for a second when you try to start. Does the engine smell like gasoline when you repeatedly attempt to start?

Old 08-23-2009, 03:29 PM

no i dont smell any gas, i was gunna do the codes but there is no light on the ecu like my 90? any tips on doing that?? um i sprayed starter fluid in it again and it tried to start just stuttered for a split second and thats all i have gotten from it.. i read somewhere that the 94's wont start if the fuel filter is bad.. so maybe i should try that too..??

Old 08-23-2009, 03:57 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Agree that testing spark w/ a timing light will confirm spark is OK.