General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Help. new to hondas. need oil advise

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006, 02:04 PM
Default Help. new to hondas. need oil advise

So im new to hondas because my last cars were a 94Z28 LT1 and 2002 WS6 LS1. i now have a 1996 Accord EX V6 2.2L 24V (old integra engine) Automatic 125,000 miles. I dont not know much about the oil and tranny fluid for these cars. From what i can see mine runs very hot . also i have been told by a many that hondas run hot. anyway when i open the crankcase after a drive i see smoke/fumes in the crankcase. doesnt seem like im burning out though. anyway, im going on a roadtrip and would like to change the oil before i leave. i do not know what the previous owner has put in but im pretty sure its not synthetic. i have a case of AMSOIL 5W40 euro syn that i used on my LS1 that is GREAT oil and will never break down at high temps. Is this ok for my V6? switching over to syn at this mileage? what should i run in the summer? what type? ive read the tranny fluid change is easier than the oil. right? Thanks to all

Old 04-27-2006, 04:07 PM
Default RE: Help. new to hondas. need oil advise

I believe that your car called for 5W30. 5W40 is a heavier viscosity than called for and your mileage may drop a bit and the engine may appear a bit sluggish. Having said that I sure wouldn't throw away any high dollar Amsoil. I would buy some Havoline/Motorcraft/Chevron dino 5W30 and use it for now. Although Amsoil is among the best it does have a habit of increasing viscosity over time when in use. It could easily go up to a 50 weight status over long term so be careful if you decide to use it.

Ideally you could trade the Amsoil 40 weight for some 5W30.
I've never heard of Honda engines running hot unless there was a problem.
Can't comment on the tranny fluid but do change it since you don't know the history. Stick with Honda fluid.