General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"High Mileage" oil; experience, knowledge of?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2013, 07:47 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Default "High Mileage" oil; experience, knowledge of?

So thinking of switching from plane jane dino oil to high mileage dino oil in my '92 which has 220,000 miles (overall excellent condition).
Purpose would be to prolong oil tightness of seals.

This high mileage oil is sold (by several oil firms) in all auto parts stores and claims to promote seal tightness/integrity.

But, I've no background with this type of oil. Does anyone have personal experience to draw from, or knowledge of ...

Thanks

Old 10-09-2013, 08:01 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Bump to the top.

In oil types, there's synthetic, semi-synthetic, dino/regular, and this High-Mileage type.

I'm looking for experience with / knowledge of this High-Mileage type oil.
Most of the oil companies sell it. Common enough.

Anybody help? Any experience?

Old 10-09-2013, 09:27 PM
Super Moderator

I don't have any experience, but I'll chime in cause nobody else did. I haven't used that kind of oil, even owning cars up to 220k miles. My opinion is only use them if there's an actual reason. Burning oil because of rings blowby? Low oil pressure from worn bearings? Leaking oil from old hardened seals? Anything specific like that?

I wouldn't use it JUST BECAUSE a car has "high mileage". I'd want to have an actual reason.

Old 10-09-2013, 11:28 PM
Super Moderator

I am with Jim on this. If it aint broke, don't fix it. The more important thing is to change the oil at the recommended intervals and check the oil level.

Old 10-12-2013, 09:06 AM
Almost A Senior Member