Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

NEED SERIOUS TUNER KNOWLEDGE...HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2006, 03:03 PM
OlSkool
Unregistered
Default NEED SERIOUS TUNER KNOWLEDGE...HELP!!

I've been working on carbed cars and trucks for about 10 years and have it down pretty good, but I'm new to the F.I. scene and need some serious info on my ride. I know my car is a dinosaur in terms of sport compact, heard it alot by now, but I'm still serious about tuning.....and tuning on this one. I've got a 1986 Honda Accord LXi hatchback. *laughter fills the room* I'm no fool with cars, and have done some research on mine.....its powerplant may have been something in '86, but now its rarely in use at all(and not because its killer either). I'm lucky enough to own an A20A3 Programmed F.I. inline 4. I've found it was upgraded from the carb version 85 & early 86 to the PGM F.I. taking the car from 98 hp to somewhere near 110 (legend has it). I've put on an Intimidator Cold Air Filter, and Magnaflow Exhaust (cat-back). I'm going to soon invest in a header and replace the cat with high flow one, hopefully putting me in the realm of 120-130 hp. There are 7 A-series engines: A16A1, A18A1, A20 carb, A20A1 carb, A20A2 carb, A20A3 EFI (mine), and the A20A4 EFI, and I've found parts will interchange between all these engines compatably, what I'm curious is will A-series parts interchange with lets say, B or E or F series. Ignitions, coils, fuel pumps, fuel rails, throttle bodies, intake manifolds, valvetrain, cams, ect. will any of these parts or entire engines for that matter swap into my car or engine? Changing the tranny isnt a problem and I'm familiar with going from auto to manual and visa versa. If anyone can shed any light on my project please do so, I'm learning fairly quickly, but its best to ask those who know....in this case you guys...Thankx for your comments.
OlSkool

Old 09-20-2006, 04:37 PM
Default RE: NEED SERIOUS TUNER KNOWLEDGE...HELP!!