General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

New User With A 89 Honda Accord

Old 01-12-2011, 02:47 AM
Default New User With A 89 Honda Accord

I'm new to HAF but I have a couple questions about the 1989 honda accord I just acquired from my uncle. This is my third car but first honda accord and was wondering if anyone had any tips to keep this car running for a long time. As of right now it has 140,000 miles on it and the only issue seems to be a leak in the power steering. Seeing that this is also a stock accord I was also wondering what modifications would go good for this car performance wise.

Old 01-13-2011, 11:17 PM
Administrator

Hello New Member, I moved you to here because you posted in the wrong forum..

Welcome to the HAF..

Old 01-14-2011, 06:35 PM
Super Moderator

What trim level-DX, LX or LXi? If you not sure I can ask some follow up questions to help you figure it out.

Ask your uncle when the timing belt/water pump (the wp is not as critical on these as others) was last replaced, that would be the first concern.

As far as the PS leak, have you found the source? If you have to add fluid at any time, only use Honda/Acura approved fluid....by the way if it turns out to be the pump, the bolt holding the pulley on is left hand thread.

Never did any "mod's" to mine so I can't help there...I just keep them stock and on the road.

Welcome and good luck.

Old 01-17-2011, 09:24 PM

Its the LX and the timing belt and waterpump were replaced less then 10,000 miles ago. The engine was really well maintained although the rest of the car has few cosmetic issues. Do you know how to fix a leak in the trunk by chance?

I got my buddy helping me find the source of the leak. its not terrible but enough to need to get fixed (hence the difficulty I've had finding it.) Thanks for all the help though I really appreciate it.