General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

oil burning ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2011, 02:17 PM
Question oil burning ?

hey guys i have a 89 accord and i need help i am burning about a qt of oil a day and is blowing smoke bad as im new to Hondas coming form dubs i need any and all help possible
thanks randy

Old 04-21-2011, 02:44 PM

A quart a day is pretty significant. Its either getting past the valve seals or rings.

Have you done a leak-down test? What sort of diagnostics have you done? How many miles on the car?

Old 04-22-2011, 08:17 AM

165000 and idk how to do any tests so if you could tell me i would love to know how im doing a compression test this weekend but dont know what its supposed to be so any info would be great thank you

Old 04-22-2011, 08:03 PM
Super Moderator

Get a compression tester; it looks like a pressure gauge with a fitting that goes into the spark plug hole. Make sure you get one with a long-ish hose or pipe because the sparkplug is down the bottom of a hole. Places like AutoZone let you rent or borrow them.

Engine should be warmed up. Remove all 4 spark plugs. Disable the ignition, like maybe unplug the small wiring harness wires from the distributor. Disable the fuel, maybe pull the fuel-pump fuse.

Stick the gauge in one of the spark plug holes. Floor the gas pedal and crank the starter until the gauge climbs to a constant value. Repeat for the other spark plugs.

Then do it all over again, but first put a teaspoon of engine-oil into the sparkplug hole before you measure that cylinder.

Write down the pressures that you measure & post em back here. You should have 2 different readings for each cylinder - dry & wet. Someone around here (Poorman?) knows the older cars, so he probably can say what's acceptable values.

Cylinder #1 is on the side with the alternator belt. Cylinder #4 is on the side closer to the transmission.