General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Oil Pan Gasket

Old 11-06-2011, 10:06 PM
Default Oil Pan Gasket

I recently had to remove my oil pan to cover up an oil return hole that was made by the previous owner. I noticed it did not have an oil pan gasket, it just had blue silicone. I used silicone when reinstalling the oil pan but drove it 5 hours after and now I have a leak. Might be because I didnt let it settle correct?

I am going to redo it but this time I am going to let it dry for a whole 24 hours.

Question: Is it necessary to have an oil pan gasket or can I just use the silicone?

Old 11-07-2011, 09:30 AM
Super Moderator

Either will do. Me personally, I'd buy the gasket, I'm not good with just silicone.

Either way, proper torque of the pan bolts is a MUST.

Old 11-07-2011, 12:09 PM
Super Moderator

1998 4-cyl does not have a gasket; use sealant. The guy at the dealer parts-counter will probably confirm that if you try to buy one. Maybe you didn't let the sealant dry enough??

Old 11-07-2011, 07:32 PM

Originally Posted by JimBlake
1998 4-cyl does not have a gasket; use sealant. The guy at the dealer parts-counter will probably confirm that if you try to buy one. Maybe you didn't let the sealant dry enough??
Lol, yeah I drove it while the sealant was still squishy and even smelled oil. This caused me to the the job all over again but it was fun LOL.

I finished a few hours ago, now Im going to actually let it dry for 24 hours.

Old 11-07-2011, 07:34 PM

Originally Posted by poorman212
Either will do. Me personally, I'd buy the gasket, I'm not good with just silicone.

Either way, proper torque of the pan bolts is a MUST.