General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

rough running 87

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2010, 03:55 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default rough running 87

On my accord its an 87 with 192k and its carbed.
I let it sit for about 6 months, now it doest want to run right. It has almost no power between 2-3k. i idles fine and has good WOT power. the problem seems to be with just crusing. I have looked at spark plugs and coil and wires seem fine. The fuel pump puts out 3 psi. all were checked with the car in neurtal, should i recheck with a load on the motor? And the exhaust is not clogged as i took everything off before the cat, no difference. i assume the carb is in need of rebuild, but i wanted to see if should check anything else first. The timing is also correct and i fixed 2 small vaccum leaks that didnt help.
thanks
matt

Old 02-03-2010, 04:11 PM
Super Moderator

I have no experience working on carbs, so hopefully and expert can help with that. You can search the threads, because most members deal with fuel injected cars on here.

Check that nothing nested in the air filter or intake hose.

If the car sat for a long time, you might have some moisture in the gas tank. If you remove the fuel return and route it to a container, you can jump the fuel relay and be able to drain the tank quickly. Fill maybe 1/4 tank with fresh gas and add seafoam to clean out any buildup in the system when the car is running.

You said that you replaced some bad vacuum hoses, and I would look around to see if any other ones seem to be in bad shape.

Also, any maintenance items that are due (like spark plugs, dist. cap, rotor, and air filter) should be replaced, so you can rule those items out as the cause for your problem.

Old 02-03-2010, 05:17 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member