General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shift Solenoid Location 2002 Accord

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2012, 03:49 PM
Default Shift Solenoid Location 2002 Accord

Hello,

I am for sure a newbie here but I wanted to find and check the shift solenoid on my 2002 Accord SE. Looking for a diagram and how to check the solenoid, someone had told me I may be able to clean the screens? When I go from 1st to 2nd it stutters and grabs, all other gears seem fine. Anything on the location would be great, front the view of me standing in front of the vehicle.

Thanks,

Frazier

Old 11-04-2012, 04:04 PM
Super Moderator

Well here are the locations of them....for a 4cyl, my guess as to what engine you have.

Attached Thumbnails Shift Solenoid Location 2002 Accord-6th-gen-trans-solenoids-4-cyl.jpg  
Old 11-04-2012, 04:21 PM

Great thank you, is there a way to manually check them? If I take it off is that where the screens are located and is that ok to do?

Thanks,
Frazier

Old 11-04-2012, 04:30 PM
Super Moderator

Yes, the o-ring/gasket between the solenoids and the trans case have a screen on one side.....clean that. Also to check the solenoids you can apply battaery voltage to them and verify a "click".

A trans fluid change with Honda Trans fluid is never a bad idea, when was the last time it was changed?

Last, sorry. The auto trans in the 98-02 is kind of known for being made of glass.....so I hope the tests and fluid change will keep it going for you.

Old 11-04-2012, 05:24 PM

Thanks, only had it a few months and I did read up on the transmission problems. I was not able to access it due to one of the bolts getting partially stripped. Will have to work on it tomorrow probably, I appreciate your help and will keep you posted.

Frazier

Old 11-05-2012, 07:25 PM

Hello,

I am wondering what I should clean the screens with within the solenoid/

Thanks,

Frazier