General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Should I sell it?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2010, 05:14 PM
Question Should I sell it?

Hi All, Newbie here... I have had quite a love/hate relationship with my 1998 Honda Accord LX... It's a long-ish story, but I really would appreciate your thoughts on whether to cut my losses or keep going. (If you don't like novels, skip to the end)

I bought it used from a dealer in June. He showed me the wrong carfax, perhaps should have bought my own but, WHO DOES THAT!? Anyway, she was beautiful, only 98k miles for $4500 (KBB a-okay!) figuring Honda reliability would be worth selling my nice '01 Audi A4 with 36K to avoid any large repairs.

After owning it for a bit and taking it to several mechanics who said it all looked fine, I got new front struts ($800), bought the carfax after seeing some odd features in the paint (it had been repainted AND had an accident 2 yrs into its life). OH WELL! Then timing belt/ water pump @ 100K ($600). Then after realizing the hacks I brought it to ripped me off (didn't replace tensioners OR water pump, even though they charged me) I had the job done.... again ($650) and in the process the harmonic balancer got bent, so the alternator belt squeaks now.

Did some body work around rear wheel wells to get rust out (worked decently, but it's starting to come back). But other than that there is no rust.

Then Honda Dealer lied to me when I brought it in for ignition coil problems (stalling whilst driving) by saying no recall (I'm going to try to get reimbursed from headquarters) and charged me $200 to replace it because there were complications (old after-market alarm system which Honda mech. "half took out") Now I still have problems starting the car (replaced orig. battery ($100)) and just tonight I see brake fluid in the snow!!!!&*^#$*&(@^#(@!