General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

throttle body and compatibility

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2010, 05:55 PM
Question throttle body and compatibility

ok so im a newb to this site and i have a specific question which i figured id rely on the honda world to answer

so my throttle position sensor is cracked, my car idles wierd, stalls out sometimes, and the speedo only works here and there... i know its possible to replace only the tps itself but i have heard it requires some special tools and is hard to do... i figure a used throttle body off ebay would suffice (50$)... so here is my question - will the throttle body from a 96 accord dx (auto) fit and be compatible with a 96 accord lx (manual)... my hopes are that this is a dumb question an i will hear YES obviously, but rather then waste time and money, i figured id ask... so thank you to anyone who gives knowlegable answers and sorry to those of you who will the need to make me look like an idiot

Old 06-09-2010, 07:25 PM
Super Moderator

They do not have the same part number, so I don't think that they are compatible.

I unplugged my throttle position sensor when mine went, and it ran better than having it plugged into a broken sensor. I drove to visit my parents (~500 miles) and really didn't have a problem. Maybe poorer gas mileage.

I had an aftermarket TP sensor go out on me in less than a year, so I am not a huge fan of them. I would look at a site like car-part.com to search for junkyard parts by price, distance, etc to get what you need.

If you go with the aftermarket TP sensor, I can give you some instructions. All you really need is a volt meter to install it. You will also need a dremel to cut a slot in the tamper-proof bolts or a drill.

Old 06-09-2010, 08:19 PM