General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire pressure gauges

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2014, 01:51 PM
Default Tire pressure gauges

I just had my Honda dealership service my Honda and they said they inflated the air pressure in my tires to 32 psi. I've been wondering about the accuracy of the 2 tire gauges I have, one cheapo I bought recently and one dial-type gauge I bought in the '70s from Sears. My Sears gauge measured 35 psi and my cheapo measured around 38 psi. So apparently I've been under-inflating my tires for a couple of decades now, as the Honda service manager assured me their gauges are accurate. So I would like to purchase a quality gauge, one upon whose accuracy I can rely. I know there are mechanics who advise in this forum and would appreciate some recommendations. For the time being, I guess I'll just do a mental 3 psi adjustment with my Sears gauge, but that may not even work with different pressures, like, e.g., my spare in the trunk, which needs a higher pressure.

Old 12-15-2014, 03:03 PM

Snap-on and Matco make my quality gauges, but as with all gauges eventually they with be out of spec. Some of the higher end ones can be calibrated, which have that option. Personally, I have plenty of Snap-on tools, but for home use I would recommend any cheap-o gauge or step up to a Sears one if you want. If the dealer filled your tires when they were cold and you drover them hard and made them hot then the psi would be greater then when they filled them. I have a few kicking around that I bought at gas stations over the years and they are all within one psi of each other and are within spec of the pressure regulator on my air tanks.

Old 12-15-2014, 03:12 PM

I thought about that when measuring them, but the tires felt cold to the touch. Its like 42 F here. (indy)

Old 12-15-2014, 06:59 PM