General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tow Bar Installation Points for '96 Accord

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2007, 12:25 PM
Bilgemaster
Unregistered
Default Tow Bar Installation Points for '96 Accord

Howdy folks! I'm a noob to this Honda Accord forum, but a co-moderator of the Amphicar-Lovers forum over at Yahoogroups, which is pretty much the very best place to get info about those cockeyed amphibious vehicles made back in the 60s: That is, from other knowledgeable owners. So, I'm hoping maybe you folks might be able to help me out with my issue regarding my 1996 Honda Accord EX (VIN: 1HGCD5656TA107992) daily driver, and also that I've placed this posting into the correct sub-forum.

As you should see from my signature line, assuming it posts as it should, I also have an old '79 Champion Motorhome, and I'd like to occasionally use my Honda as what RVers call a "four-down toad". Despite what you might guess, this phrase is not in fact some folksey epithet like "low down toad", but here injected with some added implied sexual ennuendo as in, "that goldarned four-down toad slept with my best friend and ate all my durn Cheez wiz while doing it!". Nope. The phrase "four-down toad" here simply means "towed with all four wheels down on the road." Don't even get me started on the synonymous RVer slang term "dinghy". But anyhow, from what I've seen in some of the RVer forums out there, it seems that the automatic-transmissioned Honda Accord as a breed lends itself pretty well to this use, suffering no ill effects of the tranmission nor requiring any special mods like tranny fluid circulating pumps like many other makes.