General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Transmission fluid covering Engine

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2011, 12:55 PM
Default Transmission fluid covering Engine

Hello Forum,

This is my first time posting so if my issue has already been posted please direct me to the right place because the search only shows so many results for transmission fluid and to many post to scan through, thanks. I have a 98 Accord EX that just had it's transmission rebuilt for the second time. First time was was in 2005. This time I had it done by a questionable mechanic. I received the car back in May with it running fine. Last month I noticed there was a leak that was obviously tanny fluid. I believe I found the leak and corrected it by tighten the bolt on top. Since then I have not seen anymore fluid. I topped off the fluid and afraid I might have overfilled. Today my check engine light came on and noticed there was a little smoke coming from under the hood and the temp gauge was just fine. When I got home the complete passenger side of the top engine was covered in transmission fluid. The bottom of the engine is saturated with it. How bad is it and what action should I take next?

Attached Thumbnails Transmission fluid covering Engine-imag0585.jpg   Transmission fluid covering Engine-imag0587.jpg   Transmission fluid covering Engine-imag0588.jpg   Transmission fluid covering Engine-imag0589.jpg  

Last edited by dabro22; 08-24-2011 at 12:58 PM. Reason: corrected sentence
Old 08-24-2011, 01:07 PM

I would drain the transmission fluid and start over to make sure you have the right amount in there and it doesn't bubble up all over again. Try to sop up all the fluid on the engine with shop towels as best you can, and then refill the fluid.