General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Where can I put spare key in case I lock myself out?

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2013, 10:39 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Where can I put spare key in case I lock myself out?

Hello Honda Forum;

Question. Where can I hide a spare key on the outside of my Honda in case I lock the doors with they keys inside?

I am an office supply salesman. I go from business to business. I make maybe 50 visits/stops per day.

Yesterday, for the third time, I closed the door with my keys inside.

My insurance company provides a roadside assistance service. They came and unlocked my car yesterday. I also have AAA insurance. I called them the last two times.

I used to have a Chevrolet pickup truck. I had [still have] a magnetic key box in which I put a door key. There was a flat place on the inside of the rear wheel well where the magnetic box would stay fixed.

My Honda has no such place. Also, the magnetic key box that I have is not big enough to hold the larger Honda key.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks.

Old 06-13-2013, 11:01 AM

Get a tall precription vial from the pharmacy. One that the key fits in to with the cover snapped shut. It is best when you can protect the key. Wrap it with duct tape so it will not be transparant.
Best places are the rear underside of the car. Use nylon tie straps to secure it to a metal component. Get it up as high as you can. If you use 2 or 3 tie straps, position the vial so you can remove the cover and get to the key.

Old 06-13-2013, 11:07 AM
Newest Of Newbies

Wow. Neat, good idea.

I've already got the nylon tie strips. I may already have everything I need.

Thanks.

Old 06-13-2013, 01:49 PM
Super Moderator

Get a flat hardware-store-type key made, keep it in your wallet.