General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

white exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2010, 11:02 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default white exhaust

Ok, I am a newbie but with some skills. I bought a 1993 Accord with the f22a6 manual trans. The guy who sold it to me said the head gasket was gone. When you turn the key it starts right away and runs quite well but within 5-6 seconds heavy white smoke starts coming out of the tailpipe and does not either dissipate easily nor decrease as the engine warms up. The engine runs quite well and idles smooth and revs smooth despite the heavy smoke. Initial inspection of the oil and coolant showed that both looked fine. No contamination of either evident. I mustered the courage to try my first ever head gasket change. The old gasket looked a little tired but there were no obvious breaks or cracks. The surface of the block and head both 'looked' to be in great mating shape too. I changed the head gasket following all procedures laid out on the dealer service manual torquing the bolts to spec. I refilled the rad, turned the key, and it started almost immediately...and...starting smoking just as it had before. I took a chance and it did not pay off? Is it a cracked head or block? I did a compression test on the cylinders and they were all 190-205 psi. The plugs looked carbon-black even though they had just been cleaned previously. The tailpipe itself has a gunky blackish residue inside and very obvious water. The water was spraying out the pipe when running. Have i misdiagnosed something here? I am looking for answers other than a cracked head/block or faulty gasket install. Maybe I should have overtorqued the head bolts?....Changed the oil? When I restarted it after changing the gasket, I noticed smoke coming not only from the tailpipe but also from the catalytic itself....could it be full of coolant from the previous leak??? Should I drill a hol