Headers, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your Accord breathe better here.

Cold air intake questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2007, 05:36 PM
Default Cold air intake questions

Ok im thinking about getting a cold air intake.
im new to this.
the aem v2 sounds nice. I love the sound but is it made for any or jus the v6 model. I looked at this one that was on a v6 6 sp accord and it sounds sexy. I have the i4. Would it matter which model? And to solve the water puddles problem, is there something that would solve that?

Old 10-31-2007, 11:03 AM
Default RE: Cold air intake questions

not sure about what car it fits on.....
but

the v2 has a special dual chamber and cannot vit a bypass valve. so basically you do have the chance of hydrolock... but if you haven't read in the other posts.. its rare that happens..
your intake has to be completely soaked into water to be able to get water inside the engine and cause permanent damage.

and v2=300 dollers.... i dunno if its really worth that much when you really are getting only 5 hp.

intake= more for looks and sound not performance..
the only way they really do make a differernce is if you get a intake, header, and exhauast.

that cost about a $1000 and you're getting maybe 20 hp at the MAX

Old 10-31-2007, 11:35 AM

ive had my CAI for a little more than a year now without a bypass valve and havent run into any problems with hydro lock. And its been very rainy here in NY. Honestly get yourself an ebay intake and a K&N filter. no company has the market on make metal pipes, there all the same. Save yourself some money.

Old 10-31-2007, 01:12 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

As for hydrolock, from reading on forums, asking friends, and referring to manufacturers' sites, they all say that the filter must be entirely submerged to actually achieve hydrolock.