New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

2000 honda accord

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2005, 05:02 PM
Default 2000 honda accord

I have a 2000 honda accord 3.0l v6 vtec sohc
engine has 116,000 miles on it. system tuned at 100,000 milse, the enging still puts forth all of the vtec engine traits.
I would like to upgrade the enigine perfomance, i am a complete rookie in terms of the knowledge of what is required
my plan is to transform my sleepy four door sedan in a real "sleeper", if you catch my drift

I have some basic questions and i hope that some of you can help me out.

1. With this many miles on the engine, is it worth upgrading.

2. What king of performance upgrades are avialable for the 3.0 v6 vtec sohc engine. Turbo kits?, intercoolers? racing chips?

3. Does anyone know the base horspower and what are the horspower gains i can expect, depending on the upgrades perfomed.

4 approx cost to buy the parts and have someone install.

many many thanks to anyone who can point me in the right direction.

Old 04-30-2005, 07:24 PM
Default RE: 2000 honda accord

Okay I got your email and am ready to put forth my two cents.

1.) Most honda engines run a very long time so I wouldn't worry about that yet. (My accord has only about 75,000 you got up there fast)
2.) Lots are available for this car. Whenever you want a part just google it and you will find out if they make it or not. I ahve seen some superchargers but no turbos but I ahve not looked very long
3.)220 bhp and when you are jsut starting out with your headers/intake/exhaust you will not see much hp but you will likely feel a perfromance boost, because while it might not be increasing hp it is opening up the engine more. But once you put down the base you really don't get that much hp for your money unless you go with fi