New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Getting a 2006 Accord in ~Week: AT or MT?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2009, 09:20 AM
jorwex
Unregistered
Default Getting a 2006 Accord in ~Week: AT or MT?

I've been on my "first" car for as long as I've been driving (5-6 years) and the poor, maintenance-ridding 1994 Mazda is on its last leg.

I've been researching a new-to-me Accord for the last several months and have decided on a 2006 model. I had a friend who I was doing a school project with who has me mostly convinced to get a manual transmission.

In general, I have been led to believe (and this is as a driver, not from someone who is under-the-hood car savvy however with an engineering background) that they have better gas mileage, need less maintenance as there are fewer things to go wrong, and thus last longer.

My Mazda needs something fixed each week, so this is appealing to me. However, I think my friend is used to slightly older cars, so I wanted to get the opinions of Accord-afficionados such as the people on this board.

I forgot to mention that I'm currently learning how to drive stick. The task of learning to drive is a bit daunting, but I like the challenge and know that I'll get used to it. I'm a bit worried about beltway traffic, but my work commute actually has very little traffic. I live in a city, but my commute is all highway.

So would you say that if I have a high priority of little maintanence in my new car, that I should go manual? Or is the difference in the two transmissions almost merely preference with these newer cars? The gas mileage is a bonus for me, but 2-3 mpg won't finalize my decision. It's more about a more reliable car for me.

Thanks for the read. I really appreciate it. I have my eye on a certified used LX trim with 34k that was previously a lease vehicle that's ~$13k that I should jump on soon.

Old 02-09-2009, 10:34 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member