Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

cruise from acceleration?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2014, 11:28 AM
Default cruise from acceleration?

I was flipping through the manual for my 89 accord and it has two seconds for the recommended shifting speeds: normal acceleration and cruise from acceleration. What's the difference?

Old 01-05-2014, 12:20 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Language suggests possible translation error. Acceleration or deceleration? "Cruise from Acceleration" makes no sense to me.

Two secs sounds like reasonable speed for manual shift which is probably whats intended. Easier on synchronizers.

good luck

Old 09-14-2019, 08:57 AM

I've been driving manual transmission vehicles for 40 years, but wonder what the term 'Cruise from acceleration' means, as did the op in this post. Looking at the manual for my '99 Accord the shift points for the cruise mode are at a lower speed than normal. I tend to shift in between the two,

For example, in normal acceleration the recommended shift point to 4th gear is 41 mph, while in cruise from acceleration it's 33 mph. Not planning on changing how I shift, it just would be good to know the 'Cruise from acceleration' term meaning.

I do like the somewhat tall gearing in my Accord.. 65 mph is approx 2475 rpm which provides a quiet highway ride. Although I came very close to buying a manual transmission CR-V, the gearing is considerably shorter resulting in about 3200 rpm at 65 mph. I suppose the engineers had good reasons to choose that gearing.

Old 09-14-2019, 09:19 AM
Super Moderator