Suspension Talk about your suspension within.

2005 4 door suspension mods

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2013, 09:17 PM
Default 2005 4 door suspension mods

Ok fellas, I've got a 2005 Accord 4 door EX-L V6. It has 225000 miles on it, and at speed it feels about like a horse drawn carriage. My largest single issue is, I can't make any changes that are noticable from the exterior.....aka no lowering. I'm a Private Investigator and the car has to remain looking absolutely stock. However, it handles like a bag of old @$$. It is very noticable at interstate speeds of 80mph that it simply wants to wander around the lanes. I have no previous experience with asian cars, everything I know is in American V8 stuff. I realize basic suspension systems and their geometry all function on the same principles, but in the past I've mainly concerned myself with straight acceleration and hard high torque turning. This car, no offense, has neither power nor the ability to power through a curve. As I understand it, you basically can't add any monster power adder without grenading the auto trans, which isn't an avenue I want to go down. So my basic question here is, what can I add to this suspension to create a firmer, more controlled quality at speed? I see all kinds of crap out there for sale, but half the junk on the market is worthless as a paper weight, like TB spacers. I am going to get a strut tower brace, however after that I'm not sure which directions to take. Any and all help is appreciated.

Old 08-26-2013, 05:46 PM
Super Moderator

I'd go thru the suspension and check everything......at the age an miles.....I'd be willing to bet that unless it has been replaced before....it is getting worn.

Tie rods, sway bar bushings, control arms, ball joints...not just the front but check the rear as well.

Could have the ride height checked to verify the springs are ok......or just get a set of loaded struts (all four) and replace.