Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

03 accord stock head unit

  #2  
Old 05-11-2009, 10:20 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

Originally Posted by accordJDM116 View Post
yesterday i got a new aftermarket head unit they also sold me a harness for my stock radio to be able to see the time on it, which wires do i hook up ?
See the time on it? What are you talking about? The only thing that comes to mind is the top trim panel (panel that goes over the A/C vents above the radio) with a clock that comes with navi units, but I doubt that is what you are talking about. Are you trying to install the radio in the cubby, or with the metra kit that replaces the stock HU. I need to know what your talking about to help you out. Sorry for not posting sooner, I didn't even see this thread.
 
  #4  
Old 05-12-2009, 09:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Beantown,MA
Posts: 101
Default

so you have the cubbie unit. does it really matter if you want to see the time? thats pretty much the only thing the main unit is going to be used for
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-2009, 04:04 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

Why would you need a special harness to see the time on the stock HU, that makes no sense... The harness I have seen for the cubby install kit still powers the stock HU, and powers the new HU at the same time. So I still have no idea what your talking about, so I'm just going to have to move on.

My recommendation is order your HU from crutchfield, and you will be able to get the kit that replaces the stock HU for $75. Although it does no look as good as the OEM unit, it does no look as retarded as having both HUs and not to mention the new HU being in the cubby isn't very accessible, and you really have to look down to see it. IMO the cubby kit is only if you REALLY can't afford the real kit, and is just a band aid not a solution.
 
  #8  
Old 05-12-2009, 09:45 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

The time wires...


EDIT: I even said it before, but it was not directly implied. If the stock HU has power it can display the time, so that would leave the power wires. Both constant and switched, and of course a ground. I guess not everyone is born with common sense, sorry I couldn't help you with that...
 

Last edited by t00fatt; 05-12-2009 at 09:47 PM.
  #10  
Old 05-12-2009, 10:28 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 2,328
Default

hey douche bag mc doucher, there are differnet time places for accords, if you have a navi its up where the lx or dx dont have anything, you havent even told us what model you have, fatty can be a dick but your just plain stupid, and he was trying to help you.

edit: you realize that you new hu will display the time also?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 03 accord stock head unit


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.