Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

1996 Honda Accord Sub install

  #1  
Old 12-28-2010, 03:53 PM
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 277
Default 1996 Honda Accord Sub install

So, today I got bored of seeing my basic system sitting in my Toyota (that's not running). So I woke up today and decided to drop it all into my Honda.

Here is how it all started

Name:  Picture327.jpg
Views: 240
Size:  104.4 KB

Started out by gutting out the trunk, only left one spare tire and one container of water.
Name:  Picture328.jpg
Views: 248
Size:  121.2 KB

The sub was in my toyota celica, so only problem i was afraid of having was all the wires being to short for the honda.
Name:  Picture330.jpg
Views: 228
Size:  115.9 KB

The Yota
Name:  Picture331.jpg
Views: 203
Size:  111.1 KB

Sub is a 12' Kicker Comp
Name:  Picture332.jpg
Views: 232
Size:  113.1 KB

Amp is a 500 watt Crunch
Name:  Picture334.jpg
Views: 237
Size:  92.6 KB

Since my car didn't have carpet or flooring to begin with, I simply cut a piece of old plywood and put some carpet over it
Name:  Picture335.jpg
Views: 228
Size:  72.1 KB

Name:  Picture336.jpg
Views: 216
Size:  105.9 KB

Once I secured the wood, I put the sub and box in to see how I was going to set it up, luckily, the box cleared the rear speakers.
Name:  Picture337.jpg
Views: 476
Size:  122.2 KB

this is just a little fun pic I took of the amp, wires.
Name:  Picture339.jpg
Views: 232
Size:  126.4 KB

I put the power cable through the firewall, right were the ecu cables come out. PITA to get past that dumb seal.
Name:  Picture345.jpg
Views: 284
Size:  102.2 KB

Once though, it ended up under/ behind my glovebox.
Name:  Picture347.jpg
Views: 222
Size:  98.8 KB

Wire tucking
[IMG]http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii146/ecastillo653/Honda%20pics/Picture348.jpg[/IMG


So now time to run the Rca's and Remote wires.
Name:  Picture352.jpg
Views: 238
Size:  107.2 KB

I got side tracked because apparently the freaking remote on the stereo doesn't work, So i had to search for a hot wire. I ended up just using the 12V that goes to the stereo. And it worked
Name:  Picture354.jpg
Views: 217
Size:  93.9 KB

And the finished product
Name:  Picture353.jpg
Views: 271
Size:  101.2 KB

I know this isn't a write up, but I can make one if anybody requests it.

Here is a video, the mic on my camera sucks so it doesn't do it justice.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUn8qrGhcbw
Enjoy.
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:36 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

a few comments:

when routing wires through the firewall, you need to maintain any factory watertight seals, and prevent power wire insulation from touching metal. with your routing, you compromise both. next time, make a small slit in the rubber boot and slide the wire through there, so the seal can remain in place. i assume you have an inline fuse at the battery connection and used ring terminals to secure the power wire to the battery.

when mounting an amp, makes sure mounting screws are into solid material so the amp cannot move. i also do not recommend screwing an amp directly to car metal.

when locating a sub box, use L-brackets to hold the box to the false floor so it cannot slide around either.

i noticed you converted a dual full range box into the box you are using. i assume the second opening is not just covered with carpet. i recommend eliminating the small port tube and tweeter, and making a new board to cover the front of the box that seals up all existing holes/openings. do a volume calculation and determine what the new tuning frequency should be with the total box volume (both sides). then cut out the middle divider and make a new port out of 3" PVC tubing, using an elbow to gain port length. you'll be amazed at how much you'll get out of that box/sub combo with minimal effort and cost.

when you use switched 12V at the radio for a remote turn on (make sure it is indeed switched 12V and not constant 12V) you want to add a toggle switch so if you ever need to turn off the head unit while the car is on - you can turn off the amp first. always remember Amp Off First, Amp On Last. this holds true for all audio platforms (car/home/pro).
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mgg4591
Audio/Visual Electronics
12
04-12-2014 08:55 PM
StevenVergara
Audio/Visual Electronics
5
10-05-2012 07:41 AM
3wheelcaps
Audio/Visual Electronics
4
05-21-2011 07:04 AM
lowerbattery
Audio/Visual Electronics
4
04-22-2010 08:57 PM
zelseman
General Tech Help
3
01-13-2006 03:30 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 1996 Honda Accord Sub install


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.